+1 (936) 337-8589
[email protected]
Society & Natural Resources Announce the Winners of the 4th Annual “Rabel J. Burdge and Donald R. Field Outstanding Article Award”

For the first time we had a tie and awarded both papers with this honorable distinction.

Kimberly Coleman & Marc J. Stern. 2018. “Exploring the Functions of Different Forms of Trust in Collaborative Natural Resource Management,” Society & Natural Resources 31(1), pages 21-38.

Kimberly Coleman

Marc J. Stern

Frederick I. Lauer

Alexander L. Metcalf

Elizabeth C. Metcalf

Jakki J. Mohr

Both articles were selected through a competitive process by Society & Natural Resources’ Editors-in-Chief and Editorial Board members Stuart Carlton (Texas A&M University – Galveston), Rachel Schattman (USDA Forest Service), Darrick Evensen (University of Edinburgh), Christopher Wynveen (Baylor University), and Peter Cronkleton (Center for International Forestry Research – Lima, Peru) who judged SNR’s “Outstanding Article” of 2018, for its innovative and meaningful contribution to the study of society and natural resources and its promise to be influential over time. Both articles will be open access for three months.

The authors of each paper are awarded a $500 cash prize (split between co-authors) sponsored by Taylor & Francis, publisher of SNR. The co-authors will be formally recognized at the 2019 International Symposium on Society and Resource Manage­ment (ISSRM) All Members Meeting, June 3, 2019, at The University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh, and elsewhere.

One other article published in Society & Natural Resources in Volume 31(4) (2018) was designated as an Award Finalist: “Shaping and Sharing Responsibility: Social Memory and Social Learning in the Australian Rural Bushfire Landscape” by Karen Reid, Ruth Beilin and Jim McLennan (pages 442-456) This article will also be open access for three months.

Please join SNR’s editorial team in congratulating authors Kimberly Coleman and Marc J. Stern along with Frederick I. Lauer, Alexander L. Metcalf, Elizabeth C. Metcalf and Jakki J. Mohr for their exceptional contribution to Society & Natural Resources and its sponsoring scientific society, the International Association for Society and Natural Resources (IASNR).