We had a competitive slate running for three IASNR Council positions this year. Please join us in congratulating and welcoming our new Council members Kate Burgess (National Caucus of Environmental Legislators, USA), Trace Gale (Centro de Investigación en Ecosistemas de la Patagonia, Chile), and Rose Keller (Norwegian Institute for Northern Research, Norway). Keahna Margeson (Dalhousie University, Canada) was elected by the student members to serve as the new Student Representative-Elect.

We also want to thank Grete Gansauer (Montana State University, USA), Krista L. Lawless (Arizona State University, USA), Milton Newberry, III (Bucknell University, USA), Pranay Ranjan (Purdue University, USA), Mark Shakespear (University of British Columbia, Canada), Jordan Smith (Utah State University, USA), and Ken Wallen (University of Idaho, USA) for accepting the nomination although they were not elected this year. Thanks for your willingness to serve IASNR and for participating in the election.

We also want to take this opportunity to thank our outgoing Council Members Tanya Howard (NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment, Australia), Gladman (Glad) Thondhlana (Rhodes University, South Africa), and Carla Koons Trentelman (Weber State University, USA), along with Student Representative Kindra De’Arman (University of Oregon, USA). They have made significant contributions to IASNR as individual members and on Council. We have been fortunate to have their leadership skills at the helm of IASNR.

We look forward to introducing them and others on the IASNR Council at the All Members Meeting at the 2022 IASNR Conference in Costa Rica, June 26-29, 2022.

Best regards,


~ 2021 Bill Stewart, Executive Director and the IASNR Elections Committee